Mower County Auditor/Treasurer’s Office reminds local voters concerning State Primary Election Tuesday, August 9th

The Mower County Auditor/Treasurer’s Office reminds local voters that Tuesday, August 9 is the State Primary Election. On a primary ballot, a voter, as a reminder, is only allowed to vote for candidates of one political party for the offices listed on the ballot. The voter cannot vote for candidates of different parties.  Mower County Auditor/Treasurer Scott Felten spoke with KAUS News and reminded voters that with redistricting taking place earlier this year, they should double-check their polling place prior to the election…

Felten went on to state that the Auditor/Treasurer’s Office will be open for absentee voting today (Friday), Saturday and Monday, and he also gave details concerning voters in mail-in precincts in Mower County to get their votes into his office to be counted…

Felten stated that unique to this year’s primary election is that on the back side of the state primary ballot will be the special general election for the vacancy in Minnesota Congressional District 1 of the U.S. House of Representatives. The vacancy was created when Representative Jim Hagedorn passed away in February, and Felten also noted that on the back of the ballot for voters in the city of Austin will be three candidates vying for two spots on the November ballot for the city council’s At-Large seat…

Current At-Large city councilman Jeff Austin, Oballa Oballa, who was required to resign from his city council seat in the city’s 1st Ward in early June due to his family’s move out of the 1st Ward, and David Schenck will be on the ballot for voters in the city of Austin on Tuesday.  As a result of redistricting earlier this year following the 2020 Census, voters in the cities of LeRoy and Racine, and voters in the townships of Bennington, Frankford, LeRoy, and Racine are now part of State Legislative District 26, while the rest of the cities and townships in Mower County are part of District 23.  Because of that, Felten stated in a news release that primary ballots for voters in those six precincts will contain different offices to vote for compared to the ballot for the other precincts in the county.

City of Austin voters will vote at their regular polling locations in 2022.  Felten stated that the Holiday Inn was used only in 2020 due to COVID-19 reasons. Voters in Austin, Lansing and Frankford Townships will vote at their township halls in 2022. These townships used mail balloting in 2020 due to COVID-19.  Voters in Sargeant Township will return to in-person voting in 2022 after being mail ballot in 2018 and 2020. Racine Township voters will vote at the Racine United Methodist Church. Lodi Township voters will vote at City Hall in Adams in 2022 as their township hall in Taopi was damaged in the April tornado.

Voters can find out where their polling place is and what candidates are on the ballot by going to the link on the Minnesota Secretary of State website:

Recently Played

Rich Men North Of RichmondOliver Anthony
Rock And A Hard PlaceBailey Zimmerman
Fast CarLuke Combs
Down To OneLuke Bryan
Wine CountryHannah Ellis